Quick Links

Skip to main content Skip to navigation

Main Navigation


City Council

Sub Navigation


Home > breadcrumbs: City of Wahoo > breadcrumbs: City Council >


Ajax Loading Image


City Council

Council members of the City of Wahoo are elected from three wards within the City and serve four year terms. Elections are held every even numbered year with one representative being elected from each ward. (Ward Map)

The Council serves as the legislative division of city government and performs duties and has such powers as authorized by law. They are tasked with the following: maintaining the peace, regulating business, protecting the public health and safety, and assessing such taxes and fees as are necessary and appropriate.

The a President of the Council is elected from the Council with the reorganization of the Council. The Mayor appoints members of the Council to the various standing committees of the Council and areas of Council representation as needed.

The current Council members are:

Ward I
Carl Warford, term expires December 2026
Ryan Ideus, term expires December 2024

Ward II
Shane Sweet, term expires December 2026
Chris Rappl, term expires December 2024

Ward III
Stuart Krejci, term expires December 2026, President of the Council
Patrick Nagle, term expires December 2024

Contact information on the Council members can be obtained by contacting the City Clerk's Office at 402-443-3222.

Click  here  for a printable listing of Council members, Committees and Dept. Heads

Council Standing Committees:
(per Municipal Code §30.20)
(The first member listed is the Chairperson of the Committee)

General Committee
Sweet, Rappl, Nagle

This committee's responsibility shall be to serve as a liaison with the City Planning Commission, Board of Adjustment, Wahoo Housing Authority, and Police Department.

 Personnel and Finance Committee
Krejci, Warford, Sweet

This committee's responsibility shall be to review the nonproprietary city budget, recommend financing, taxes and fees, review the nonproprietary funds audits, recommend investment policies, review the Mayor's recommendations regarding employee wage and benefits packages, and review personnel policies which are city-wide in scope.

Park, Recreation, and Cultural Committee
Warford, Rappl, Nagle

This committee's responsibility shall be to serve as a liaison with the Wahoo Park and Recreation Commission and the Wahoo Library Board. 

Streets and Sanitation Committee
Nagle, Sweet, Rappl

This committee's responsibility shall be to review capital improvement projects, operating policies, and procedures regarding streets, cemeteries, solid waste disposal, and storm sewers.

Economic Development Committee
Ideus, Krejci, Warford

The duties of the members of this committee shall be to serve on the Wahoo Economic Development Committee together with representatives from the Wahoo Chamber of Commerce, Greater Wahoo Development Foundation, and Wahoo Industries, Inc. The purpose of this committee shall be to promote economic development in the city and surrounding area. Two Council members shall serve on the Wahoo Economic Development Committee while the third shall be an alternate.

Other representation as appointed by the Mayor:

Board of Public Works:                         Ideus

Airport:                                                 Harrell

Wahoo Public Buildings and Grounds:   Johnson, Warford, Krejci,

Economic Development Advisory Board:    Ideus, Krejci

Back To Top