Police Department Information
Copies of accident reports investigated by the Wahoo Police Department may be obtained at the office during normal business hours for a fee of $5.00.
Blank accident report forms are available at the Police Department, or you can print one from the Nebraska Department of Roads website.
Wahoo City Ordinance prohibits parking on all city streets overnight. This regulation exists for the safety of emergency vehicle traffic, to aid in snow removal, and also helps to deter theft and vandalism. If it is necessary to park a vehicle on the street overnight, you should contact the Police Department in advance to request permission for parking.
Parking tickets issued in the City of Wahoo are paid at City Hall, 605 North Broadway. The fine for most violations is $5.00 if paid within 1 to 5 days. The fine increases to $10.00 if paid within 6 to 15 days, and increases to $25.00 if paid after more than 15 days. Failure to pay will result in issuance of an arrest warrant.
Dog and Cat Licenses (See Ord. No. 2305, adopted April 11, 2019, which now requires licensing of cats and adopts a number of other language changes regarding pets)
All dogs and cats over the age of six months must be licensed. Proof of rabies and distemper vaccination showing date of vaccination and expiration date, must be presented. Licenses are obtained at City Hall, 605 North Broadway, and cost $10.00. Licenses must be renewed annually before the end of May. A late fee of $20.00 is charged after May 31st of each year.
Animals at Large & Impoundment
Animals found running at large are subject to impoundment. Impound fee for a first offense is $15.00; the second offense is $30.00; the third offense is $45.00. All animals are taken to the Green Acre Animal Clinic for impoundment and boarding fees, applicable based on length of stay, will be paid to this facility before release. Animals will not be released from impoundment without proof of rabies vaccination and current license.
Vendors who sell merchandise door-to-door are required to register and obtain a Peddler Permit. Forms are available at City Hall during regular business hours at a daily fee of $10.00 or an annual fee of $100.00. Residents are advised to ask to see the salesperson's permit, and contact the Police Department immediately to report unregistered vendors.
Sex Offender Registry
The Nebraska State Patrol's sex offender registry is found here.